Pulls GP benefits from the 64bit architecture?

Questions about GP commands and how to do things

Moderator: MSandro

Post Reply
MSandro
Posts: 156
Joined: Jul 26th, '17, 21:12

Pulls GP benefits from the 64bit architecture?

Post by MSandro » Aug 26th, '18, 21:24

Hi, does GP pulls any benefits from the 64 bit VM? Or does it make any difference whether the 32 or 64 bit VM is used.

User avatar
Calloway
Posts: 73
Joined: Apr 30th, '18, 00:28
Location: Eastern United States

Re: Pulls GP benefits from the 64bit architecture?

Post by Calloway » Aug 27th, '18, 17:28

Bigger integers? The 32 bit might be a little bit slower just because 64 bit is a really small percent faster of an architecture.

JohnM
Posts: 369
Joined: Sep 11th, '15, 14:42

Re: Pulls GP benefits from the 64bit architecture?

Post by JohnM » Sep 1st, '18, 17:08

GP uses the same size integers on both 32-bit and 64-bit architectures. GP does run a little faster when compiled for 64-bit architectures. However, the speed increase isn't really noticeable except on benchmarks.

MSandro
Posts: 156
Joined: Jul 26th, '17, 21:12

Re: Pulls GP benefits from the 64bit architecture?

Post by MSandro » Sep 5th, '18, 05:24

JohnM wrote:
Sep 1st, '18, 17:08
GP uses the same size integers on both 32-bit and 64-bit architectures. GP does run a little faster when compiled for 64-bit architectures. However, the speed increase isn't really noticeable except on benchmarks.
Okay ... good to know
I've asked this because I thought about an 64 bit variant of my BootToGP operating system. Accordingly, no 64 bit version is needed.

Post Reply